I was out and about this weekend checking out “64 Galore” — a huge run of yard sales along Highway 64 in Arkansas.  Each year in August, a weekend is dedicated to a massive yard sale.  Hundreds of people set up their sales along the sides of the roads at churches and businesses, subdivisions have large neighborhood sales, flea markets and antique shops have sales.  The opportunities go on for miles.  While looking for something very specific (which I never actually found), I happened upon a flea market in Vilonia, Arkansas, where I found one of these:

buttermold

I thought it was very unique and I’d never seen anything like it before.  I asked the man at the counter what it was and he explained it was a butter mold.

Some quick facts about Butter Molds:

A butter mold makes butter more visually appealing for table use.  Old, primitive butter mold presses were made from wood and carved with a handle on the top and a flat bottom with a design carved on the underside. People pressed the design onto the top of the butter.

  • Pressed butter is a popular item at old-fashioned festivals and country fairs. Put the butter on the table for display but keep most of it in a cooler to prevent it from melting in the sun.
  • Most wooden butter molds were made of hardwood or maple.
  • The intricacy of the design can increase the value of the press. The most common designs were simple carvings such as wheat sheaths.

I bought one because I have a vision for this butter mold and what I can make out of it.  I can’t get to work on it. Wait and see what I turn this butter mold in to.  I hope the end result comes out as well as I can see it in my head.

