A couple of years ago, I got really interested in Zentangle. I like to draw, but I’m not very good at it. Zentangle is a mix of doodling and drawing and I found out that was right in my sweet spot. I found tons of designs on the interwebs and started doodling. I call it doodling with a purpose 😉 I even took a class at my local Hobby Lobby with Bethany Bennett, CZT, here in Arkansas. Taking what I learned, and also a fascination with Day of the Dead masks, I used some head shots of my friend’s children and basically doodled on them. I printed the photographs on white cardstock in black and white. Then I went to town with my Zentangle supplies, which basically comes down to various sizes of Sakura Pigma Micron Pens and Sharpies. You can create the designs in many colors, but I find myself being a purist and sticking to the straight black.

You can buy an actual Zentangle kit of pens here:

https://www.amazon.com/Sakura-Zentangle-11PC-Set-50011/dp/B007FEBJX6/ref=sr_1_13?s=arts-crafts&ie=UTF8&qid=1502218849&sr=1-13&keywords=zentangle

Or you can just collect the various sizes and colors you’d like to work with. Get an art box, you’ll end up with a zillion pens.

I love the results, they’re a little kooky and a bit different



If you’re interested in getting started with Zentangle – check out this site http://tanglepatterns.com/ I picked up so many ideas here. Later I’ll post on my sketch books and how I practice and store designs.

