Not every sweet baby girl is going to be all ribbons and lace. Some girls grow up and want to wear camo and ride horses and be a rancher or a farmer. These baby girls will still love their pink and their bows, but they’ll want to hang out with the boys and ride four-wheelers and shoot guns and drive tractors. This is for the girl who not only can do everything the boys do, but they can beat them at their own games. So, for the future deer hunter I made this sweet teething rattle. Now, yes, I do realize that female deer rarely have antlers, but bear with me here. I wanted to create something for the future tomboy, but I also wanted everyone to remember she’s a sweet little girl. I looked for a sweet little fawn pattern, or something a bit more girly, but I didn’t find anything I liked.

 

 

 

Then, I found Rory….Rory the Reindeer….it’s a pattern for an ornament that I fo080617_0133_FortheFutur2.jpgund on www.ravelry.com.

Rory is a cute little guy and his pattern can be found here: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/rory-the-reindeer-ornament

I used brown and black safety eyes and a safety nose. I also ordered the following rings from Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MS6BJ3R/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1 I prefer the all-natural wood rings for teethers instead of something plastic. I also prefer the bigger rings than you can traditionally get at Hobby Lobby or Michaels. This one is 3.7″ and I got it from Amazon. (If you keep up with 2LittleRedBirds you’d know that I’m a bit of an Amazon Prime addict.) It’s still plenty light for an infant but it’s much better with the size of the head and makes for better balance. I also recommend these rattle inserts https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00SKLWG0S/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1 I used 2 inside the teether so that it made a loud enough rattle.  So for the Future Tomboy I give you this sweet deer teether/rattler.

